Anyone using their Jolida JD 100 as a transport?

I'm looking to get a more detailed and dynamic sound out of my CDP. I'm thinking of hooking up an inexpensive DAC to my Jolida JD 100 CDP.

I have never used a DAC before, and could use advice on a decent DAC / digital cable combo for approx. $600-$800 (used).

My other option is to sell my JD 100 CDP and get a used Meridian 508.24 or Arcam CD23.

The rest of my system is as follows:
Speakers: Silverline Sonata II (due in two weeks)
AMP: BAT VK 200 (ss)
Pre: BAT VK 30 (tube)
I/C for source: Purist Venustas (in-transit)

Any advice / suggestions would be appreciated.
128x128pdreher

Showing 5 responses by distortion

Pdreher, I wanted to check back in after a few weeks. How do your new speakers sound? I bet they sound good! Also, how did you like the Jolida with the RCA's? I hope our advice worked out for you.
Pdreher, what tubes have you tried? Have you tried a PC? This player responds very well to both.

It's an acceptable Transport. I used mine to feed either my Pre/Pro or a Theta DSPro for a while. Though the tube output was my preferred source and its a fine one at that.
On second thought, I am with Rob and Gunbei on this too. If you havent/wont try any tube changes then a tube player probably isnt for you.

Something else to consider. If you're running stock tubes in the CDP, with a tube BAT pre, and a BAT amp, its probably as sweet as syrup. Maybe too sweet!

While you are waiting for your Silverlines, what is filling speaker duties? You may want to wait at least until you try out your new speakers before changing sources! If for nothing else then to just have baseline of what you dont like about the sound.

I have Sol 6.2's right now. Good little speaker! I bet you're going to like the Silverlines. Good choice.

I used to have the Jolida paired with a Theta DAC, I replaced it with a CDP with volume control. I still miss the Jolida.