Anyone using Squeezebox server on Mac OS X?

I'm currently using Squeezebox Server on a Linux box that I've been using for the past several years like this. It works incredibly well, without any hiccup. However, I do anticipate the point in time where I will exceed the hard drive capacity of that machine, and I have a much more powerful iMac that has plenty of storage space.

I'm reluctant to make any changes at the moment because it does work so well on the Linux box, but I'm trying to plan for my contingency plan.

Does anyone have experience using the Squeezebox Server on Mac OS X? Any comments on how well that works?

Michael
128x128Ag insider logo xs@2xsufentanil

Showing 4 responses by caudio2011

I'd like to use my older g4 mac mini 1.25GHz as a music server (running Squeezebox server) on my home network. The mini will be installed in the router room and not in the listening areas. I'll use a couple of Squeezebox Touches & a Squeezebox radio. I understand I need to install Squeezebox server on the mac mini & I'll have an external hard drive attached to the mini with the music files on it. I'll be using another computer to rip CDS & do downloads, etc. How do I set this ripping computer, which at the time is a iBook G4 (and will be hooked up via ethernet to the network), up so that the rips and downloads go directly to the external hard drive on the mac mini (are there settings on the macs)?
Sufentanil, For clarification. What you are saying is to physically attach the external drive to the lap top for ripping purposes and then after ripping reattach the external drive to the mac mini?