Anyone used 240V-120V step down transformers?

Hi - I'm new to audiogon and was after some advice. Am thinking of buying a second hand quality amp but want to be able to use it in Asia/UK/Australia. I was looking at maybe a ML335/6 but the manufacturer will only change the voltage over for the Original owner (documents required apparently).

Has anyone tried to run a 110V-120V amp (and other equipment) using a stepdown transformer, and if so, with any success - I was thinking of buying a 2000 to 3000VA toroidal transformer. What brands/ models worked and which ones to avoid? Appreciate any help/tips you could provide.
browsinganch1
Maich, do you know what frequency your stepdowns are putting out? I want to step from 240V/50Hz to 120V/60hz - is it possible to change the frequency as well as the voltage?
Maich
Which amps ,brands,models,do you have?A lot of amps are 100lbs and some are twice that weight and more
George
Oh, just want to clarify -- the fuses blew in the one amp due to an extremely taxing dynamic passage of the movie I was watching -- my speakers are low impedence and large and can sop up just about as much current as any amp can provide -- after consultation with the amp designer, he said 10 amp fuses were OK, so I put those in.

The amp is plugged into one leg of the 240v, so is on a dedicated circuit and has a theoretical 20 amp limit from that circuit. The step down has another dedicated circuit as well (the other leg of the 240v), so it can provide 40 amps of current flow to two, three, or four amplifiers.

The fuse blowing had nothing to do with inrush, but there is a big gulp of that when the beast is switched on -- I just always keep mine on. I will email later when I have more time, but I just wanted to set the record straight on those points where I realized confusion might occur.