Anyone own the Yamaha A-S2000 - noob questions

Hey guys, I'm fairly new to hi-fi audio and purchased my first integrated amp a few weeks ago. So far i've been somewhat satisfied with A-S2000's build and sound quality but I have some concerns over a few things that doesn't seem quite normal with the amp.

The first "problem", is the phono preamp on the a-s2000. When I played one of my records, even at low volumes my woofers would flex in and out, I was worried that I might have hooked up the wires wrong or something of that nature but I double checked everything and even tested a different turntable. But what really had me disappointed was the overall sound quality of the phono preamp. My records sounded so dull and lifeless when testing it on this amp. I don't claim to have discreet hearing but even my family members could hear the difference when we compared each others amps/preamps. After reading so many good reviews and recommendations, I really expected this $2,500 integrated amp to be better than that... Considering that my cousin was just using a cheap numark mixer as his phono/preamp, I was a bit embarrassed when we compared... Is anyone else not happy with their a-s2000 phono preamp?

2nd issue, heat. I've read that yamaha's tend to get hot but this amp seems to be getting hot rather quickly. It's not unbearably to touch but it is enough to raise a concern. The heat is most intense around the rear right hand corner of the amp, this is where I believe the preamp circuit board is located. I know that class A amps are suppose to get hot but I can't find any information on what class this amp is considered to be under. Music is kept at moderate levels, NEVER passed 11 o clock on the volume dial. Are these amps suppose to get this hot?