Anthem 225 integrated: Anyone knows anything ?

Hello,

I am building a smaller system and I came to find out about this seemingly amazing bargain in the Anthem 225.

Now, the dealer also sells the YBA Design line, Cambridge Audio and Musical Fidelity.

I have no experience with those lines (except with a MF A5 integrated).

I have experience with higher-end (tubes and SS) but nothing from those manufacturers mentioned.

Now the dealer says that the Anthem 225 - is WAY BELOW a cambridge 840A and YBA Design - maybe so, but since he has no demo unit for me to listen to, its hard to say.

On reputation alone, maybe he's right, but look at the Anthem closely, build quality and all. Looks like a bargain for a 1,500 retail price doesn't it ? Any comments?
sonicbeauty
I have seen a lot the anthem, but never had the choice to try them out and listen...btw, here's a review on it:
http://www.avrev.com/home-theater-news/power-amplifier-news/anthem-reveals-225-integrated-amplifier.html
I think the Anthem 225 is a very good value, and sounds good to boot. I think it has the basic "Anthem house sound" which isn't a bad thing at all. It does everything very well without calling attention to itself. It has good bass qualities and isn't bright sounding, maybe a little soft in the upper frequencies. Again, not a bad thing. It brings a lot to the table, great build quality, great power output, built-in phono stage(which I haven't listened to), remote control. Just a good all around solid buy.

I have listened to this amplifier on and off since it came out, mainly with Paradigm speakers such as the studio series 60/100's. Note I do not own one of the 225's, but when I have listened to it, it is a very likeable amp, and if I were in the market for an integrated, it would be put on my list to get serious about.