Advice on cables for Tannoy D500 powered by Sansui au-317ii

Dear all,
I am looking for cables to connect my recently acquired Tannoy D500 powered by a nice amp Sansui au-317 ii. The sound I have is very impressive, but I'm new to hi-fi and would like to test the limits of the quality that I can get with this system.
Can some of you give me advice on cables, length or other things I should keep in mind.
Thank you.
Best regards,
Nuno
128x128nubo2015

Showing 4 responses by nubo2015

Thank you Tom for your help :)
I have the tannoys connected to the sansui with 2 cables of 4 metres of cheap QED (0,74mm2) white. They cost me 22€ or something in FNAC (http://www.qed.co.uk/speaker_cables/profile/qed_classic_42_strand_cable.html.)
My RCA interconnects for the CD are those regular red and white found in my house from other gear, perhaps with 60 cms (6€ maybe).
My old Philips turntable has its own RCAs.
Any ideas on how to improve?
Best
I forgot to mentioned that I intend to add to the system a chromecast audio (short cable with 3.5mm jack and RCA) and a 5 metres cable jack 3.5mm (male) and 2RCAs (male) to connect my macbook. Any hints on those?
Hi akg_ca,
I've made an intensive research on cables for tannoys and found a significantly impressive number of different views about  cables to connect the Tannoys to the ampli. 
However, I believe that given such a diversity of opinions the most reliable source was the Tannoy website, where we can read only tips about the gauge vs. length. Here it is:
"Recommended loudspeaker cableStaff, posted this on May 23, 2012, 15:52

Unfortunately we cannot recommend any specific brand of cable to use with any of our loudspeakers and always recommend consulting your local hi-fi dealer for more advice.