6550 vs. KT88: What's different about the sound?

I have a Music Reference RM9...great amp. I used EL34's for several years...nice match for the slightly agressive ribbons in the Newform (best imaging I've ever heard) Now that I have the Maggie 1.6 QR, the 6550 (Svetlana) sounds better... but will the KT88 better define the high end without being aggressive and better control the bass without being anemic? KT88's are much more expensive than 6550's so before I lay out an extea 300 $, or so, I'd like to know what to expect. Any help out there?? Better to get me at [email protected]. ( use "Tube question" as the subject so I know it's not spam )
jrome
I have limited experience with the Svetlana KT-88 and Svetlana 6550 C. The immediate differences that I noticed were the following: The KT 88's were more refined sounding. They resoved inner detail better and presented music in a smooth textured manner. It has a bit more sparkle on the top end than the 6550C. The 6550 seems to be a bit more dynamic not as rich in tone, but seem to have better heft and low end definition. Both are great tubes and it really comes down to personal taste.

Hope this helps,

Johnny
1st, go to the tube asylum... http://www.audioasylum.com/scripts/tv.pl?forum=tubes&s=U ...and SEARCH there; you'll find a lot. If you decide on '88s, I recommend the Penta/Shuguang KT88SC. They're only $29 each and sound quite nice. I changed from the original Shuguangs in my ASL 'Canes so didn't notice a difference in sound, but these's a lot of info about them on the Asylum.
Jeffrey, where do you purchase the Penta/Shuguang KT88SC? Do you prefer them to the EH?
At $29 each or $65 per matched pair, The matching fee of $7 per pair is now reasonable. I recall a few months ago Penta was charging an UNreasonable matching fee, something like $20/tube IIRC.

Warrantee is 6 months, BTW.