$500 USB cable

Someone is trying to sell some fancy (used and 2 ft long) USB cable for $497.50. I am genuinely curious since I am no expert. What does this ultra expensive USB cable do to your audio system (besides transferring digital data)?
jkbtn
I have compared usb cables and find there is a difference in sound.

I am guessing you could find a cable as good as the one you mention for less. I mean what are the odds a short usb cable could actually be worth that amount?

just guessing here but my instinct is: avoid

"I am guessing you could find a cable as good as the one you mention for less. I mean what are the odds a short usb cable could actually be worth that amount?

just guessing here but my instinct is: avoid"

There's really no reason to avoid a cable like that. You try it first, and then make a decision.

OP,  looks like this is your first USB cable purchase. I would not buy a expensive cable unless you have done A/B comparison.  Try a vendor that allows you to do cable camparison with no hassle returns.  

Music Direct and The Cable Company is a good place to start. Good luck! 

First - the function of the USB cable depends on what component it is plugged into.

1. If the component DOES NOT utilize he power from the USB port, then all the cable is doing is passing data - better quality conductors will improve sound quality

2. If the component DOES use the power provided by the USB port then the cables is sending data and providing power.

In case #2, the best USB cable I have come across is this one...
http://www.ebay.ca/itm/Power-supply-and-USB-cable-separate-audio-signal-cable-/251589388236

By having the power and signal cables separate there is no possibility of noise being induced between the signal conductors and power conductors, since they are separate cable runs

Using the Doukmall cable you can then experiment with different USB power supplies to get the very best SQ.