24/96 vs 24/192 DAC

What is the main purpose between these 2? Is it (24/192) for sacd/hdcd/dvd-a play back - better sampling rate? Please explain in plain terms, as I am a tech newbie. I was going to buy either an Arcam cd72 or a Jolida 100 but found out that they both are 24/96. So is it better to get something with 24/192 DAC since it is newer/better technology? Please help!!!!!!!
Thanks in advance
jeanluc07

Showing 2 responses by rcprince

I will likely be castigated for this, but after listening to upsampling to 24/96 and 24/192 on a dCS Purcell, I believe it is primarily marketing hype. I believe that the current DVD-V and DVD-A standard is 24/96 (others please correct me if I'm wrong), and I hear no real significant differences to my ears that I can consistently identify between the two sampling rates, as opposed to my clearly hearing the difference between redbook CD and upsampled CDs or true 24/96 discs. None of these sampling rates has anything to do with SACD; that's a different animal. I think you can buy true 24 bit/96khz sampling DACs without giving anything up. Note, though, that if you're playing redbook CDs on the units, the DACs are only at best upsampling to 24/96 (assuming that they do upsample); you won't get true 24 bit resolution from a CD, and you won't be able to play SACDs or, unless these are DVD or DVD-A players you're referring to, DVD-A or DAD discs on them. Just my $.02.
I'm really not the one to be giving technical information, but I'll give it a try here, and hope that someone with better information can correct me: