Another cheater plug thread

OK. So on a couple of other threads, opinions of cheater plugs to tame system hum range from "If it works use it" to "you're going to die in a fiery inferno." In my case, I used a cheater plug between my power supply and my pre-amp to finally get rid of a year-old hum problem. the power supply is a PS Audio Ultimate Outlet with only two outlets that supplies only my amp and pre-amp. Because the PS is still grounded - I think - all I did was break the ground circuit between the two components. So the question is, do I still have any grounding on my pre-amp here, just on the basis of being plugged into a grounded power supply? I wouldn't think so, but I'm not an engineer. Also, what is the benefit of being grounded vs. ungrounded in this situation?

Ready, set, fight!
grimace
Assuming that your preamp has a grounding plug on it; yes, it will be grounded through the PS. I suppose many of the posters that scream about cheater plugs, didn't live through the era of non-polarized/ungrounded AC plugs(EVERYTHING pre-late 80's). After three decades(70's - 90's) of being in the electronics biz; I can't recall an instance of anyone being fried by their equipment. I suppose if they had grabbed a ground, and their phase was reversed; it may have gotten interesting. If the idea of an extra, low grade connection(the cheater plug) in your AC line bothers you: find the chassis ground lead, coming off the back of the IEC jack(inside the amp) and disconnect it. If your upgraded power cord uses the ground as an EMI/RFI shield, it'll still work. Unless your outlet is connected with the phase reversed; I THINK you'll make it!. BTW: You don't have any power cords, interconnects, etc. running close together/parallel, do you?