Conditioners?

Favorites, comparisons.
ptss
Hello PTss.

I like isolation transformers: better performance, lower price. Plitron makes superb ones.
If you've got champagne taste and a beer pocket book, check out the Blue Circle Thingee. It's a great little power conditioner.
Terry, have you tried any Equitech by chance?
How about the old MIT Z Stabilizer (fixed short cord) or the newer(but still well out of production!) Z Stabilizer ll with the silver or black face and a duplex in the back and detachable cord? They can both be a very interesting combo with your isolation transformer.
Hello Ptss.

I am a big fan of isolation transformers, so I have been using them for about 10 years. Isolation from lightening, not to mention all the line garbage. When the electrical inspector certified my installation, he said that he had never seen such clean power, even at a power station.

Early on, I went to the local high end store and borrowed an exotic cable and an exotic power stabilizer. I tried six conditions into a Bryston power amp:
factory cable into industrial grade wall socket, no isolation: good
exotic cable into industrial grade wall socket, no isolation: slightly better
exotic power stabilizer, as above: significantly better
isolation transformer: best by a wide margin
isolation transformer with exotics: no improvement over isolation transformer

The best thing about Plitron transformers is that you can buy directly from the factory, and their medical isolation transformers are, well, designed to be good enough for medical equipment. The only thing is that they growl at 120Hz when working, so they should be placed in their own metal electrical box, outside the music room. And that means the electrical inspector. Even so, $500 for parts, $500 for professional installation, and you really have something - for the cost of one medium exotic cord.

That's my thinking. I use three at 2KVA.
Hello Ptss.