Do expensive cables/wires REALLY make a difference

Im fairly new to the hifi world and just recently purchased a couple of high end peices.my question is this:ive been reading alot about cables and speaker wire,do the expensive ones really make that big of a difference???Is it really worth spending a small fortune on cables?? And is Monster Cable really overrated like ive been reading? Any help would be useful,thank you.
cwby8115
Short answer, yes. Even inexpensive cables/interconnects can make a big difference. It's good to read stuff, but with cables, etc. it's best to identify what aspects of sound are important to you and what you'd like to improve in your system and use that to choose some cables to try and see what happens. Cables and interconnects tend to sound different in different systems, so it's kind of a moving target so especially with these components there's really no substitute to just start auditioning some and find your own way. Don't rush to judgement -- when I swap wires it usually takes a few minutes for them to settle into my system before they sound their best, and that's assuming they're fully broken in already. By the way, you won't find too many audiophiles using Monster Cable. Nuff said.

The good news is you can get very good performance for not a whole lotta $ if you do some research and especially if you buy used or direct from a manufacturer. My analogy with wires is putting cheap tires on a Porsche -- it undermines a lot of the potential you paid for when you bought the car. So it is with cables. Oh, and if this isn't infuriating enough, power cords make a big difference too. You can get some good feedback and advice here to help narrow things down if you're specific with what you're looking to improve/accomplish, your tastes/preferences in sound and music, and also let us know what other equipment you have.

Congrats on entering this nutty hobby. Is it too late to return your high-end pieces?