Bass Attenuation - best approach

I've been using the Martin Logan Odyssey speakers since new about 14 yrs ago and have been very happy with them in almost all respects. 2 days ago, however, I auditioned a pair of Martin Logan Theos speakers and heard what I thought to be, better detail in the upper mid ranges. I know that improvements in ML's overall technology has been made but I'm wondering if some of this "improvement" , at least to my ear, has something to do with the more limited bass output of the Theos. It's not that the Odysseys are lacking in the upper registers, but I feel that the bass output interferes or detracts from my appreciation of them. It's not that it's muddy or boomy; it's just there. I do have personal hearing issues (I'm 72 yrs old) that may contribute to this phenomenon but I'm looking for the best way to make an adjustment to accommodate my listening tastes.

My understanding of the most obvious fixes include using a good equalizer or going back to bi-wiring and installing resistance in the bass path. What I'm hoping for, then, is some advice regarding the best approach to this issue and will appreciate any that's offered.

My equipment is: Shanling CD100 disk player, Peachtree Audio Nova used as a preamp and Peachtree audio 220W power amp.
128x128broadstone
The Odyssey's have a bass control switch on the rear. Try it at the -3db setting to tame the bass a little.

BTW, I was a Martin Logan dealer for many years and the Odyssey is still one of my favorite ML speakers.
I did that yrs ago but I'm looking for a bit more reduction. I share your opinion of the Odyssey and believe them still to be one of the best and most versatile speakers available.
I owned Odysseys for quite awhile and loved them when I had an all Martin Logan HT system. Have you tried moving them farther out away from the walls?