starting from scratch ...new system

Dear Audiophiles:
I’m new to hi fi and looking for some advice about a system.
My room is a finished basement, about 11 by 16, with 6.5 foot ceilings. There is a carpet on the floor, and the room has some funny angles to it, so I need something that isn’t too fussy. I am thinking mini-monitor. I would like to be able to play CDs and am also thinking of getting my first turntable. For this reason, I have been thinking of a Rega system, since their turntables (even entry level) seem excellent. I play a lot of jazz but also rock, pop, blues, and country.

Since I am starting from scratch, I could really go many different directions. My budget for the whole system is around 5-6 k. I wonder if forum members have any ideas for me about possible system configurations? Here are some things I have been thinking about:

-Rega Brio R, Rega Apollo R, Rega Rp1, with Harbeth P3esr

-I am also intrigued by the KEF LS50. Is this too much speaker for the size of my room? Would it work well with the above components, or would it need more power? If so, I have thought about running the Kefs with a Rega Elicit R (paired with Apollo R and Rp1). Or switching to the Musical Fidelity M3i? Or would the KEFs run better with Naim amplification? If so, which Naim would pair best, and does this mean I need an external phono stage? (The Rega Rp1 is “plug and play” but I still don’t even know what this means.)

-Does anyone yet have any experience with the new Dynaudio Excite x14?

Any ideas most appreciated! If this was your room, what would you do?
mc
mcanaday
I suggest that you start with a good pair of Dynaudio's and build your system from that starting point. I just saw Focus 160's and X12's for sale here on Audiogon. Try to buy demo or trade-in or discounted from a reputable dealer for your $ safety.
Good Luck