Audio Research Ref 5 and Krell amps

Hello,

Just wondering if ARC Ref 5 preamp will mate well with Krell FPB 450 MCX monoblocks. My speakers are Revel Salon 2.
sfstereo
If you ever do this let me know. I've had my eyes on a pair of 450 mcx also.
I will be a great match - the Ref3 was an usual recommendation at the time, as they matched perfectly in electrical terms, and the REF5, that has better definition in the bass and more slam, will be a much better match.
I have no experience with the Salon2 and I am extrapolating from my experience with the REF3 and the FPB750 MCX - I think that the 450 MCX will sound similar.
Sfstereo, I own the REF 5 and used to own the Ref 3. I concur with Micro insofar as saying that the Ref 3 and 5 have similar input/output electrical attributes (e.g. impedance, voltage etc). So, if the Ref 3 works well with the Krell, I expect the Ref 5 would as well.
Mitch4,

I have had the Krell 450 mcx for a couple of years now. I think about replacing them with the newer EVO series but I am not sure if they are that much better. In the meantime, I am considering getting a new preamp.
microstrip & bifwynne,

Thanks for your feedback. I have always used ss preamps but after reading all the positive reviews on the ref 5, I thought I give tube preamp a chance. I am looking for a slightly larger soundstage and warmer sound that tube is suppose to provide.
Based on the high input impedance of the Krell, the Ref 5 should work well. I am planning to use balanced outputs.

Macdadtexas,
I will place an order the ref 5 in a couple of weeks.
SFstereo

So what is the preamp your using right now with the 450's? And have you tryed any of the Evo preamps or are you strickly headed in the tube direction for a change?
Heykay,

I am currently using a Pass Labs XP-10. I have always had SS preamps so I want to try tube for a change.