Pass, Bryston, Audio Research, or McIntosh?

I have been auditioning speakers and think I am settled on buying Magnepans--either the 3.6 or 20.1. Wife and budget will help me decide. I currently have an Audio Research 100.2 which I like, but I expect I will need to get a beefier amp than only 100 into 8 and 200 into 4 ohms. I like buying used and have heard good things about the Pass 250 or 350 x.5. I have also read that Magnepans are often demoed with Brystons which speaks well of the combination--am looking at the sst models. I like audio research and am a bit intrigued by the hybrid HD220 as this will get me 400 wpc into 4 ohms and may provide some tube sound (a good thing for Maggies by most accounts). Lastly, I have no experience with McIntosh, but many seem to like them. Am going to stick with solid state for now. My current pre/pro is an older unit--an EAD Classic Signature which I have had modded by Noble Electronics. It is a sweet sounding dac tho it does not decode SACD or DVD audio. I may eventually go to an Audio Research tube preamp, but my budget will only allow so much for the time being. Any thoughts as to which direction I should go for amps? Room is about 17 x 23 with 10 foot ceilings and an opening along one side wall into another similar sized room.

Thanks.
luvwine
Mcintosh MC402 fits your bill. 400W into 8ohms/4ohms/2ohms.
The Mcintosh MC402 is oh so super smooth and powerful. Quietest ss amp I have ever owned. A great bargain at $7K.

The Pass X350.5 is a second choice but a bit noisier and bright in the upper midrange spectrum. The Pass X350.5 will set you back $11K.
What you've heard about Bryston and Magnepan is not urban legend.There is just a natural synergy between the 2 products,and with a tube pre you will have a nicely balanced system.