Old power amp with newer preamp?

Hello,

I'm a newbie and I'm looking to improve my setup and more than happy to buy used equipment. I currently run Boston Acoustics CR-77 bookshelf speakers through an older Denon AVR-3000 receiver in 2 channel stereo. I have no desire for surround sound, just want to build a better system for music listening.

So I made the grave mistake of visiting our local B&W and Rotel dealer and I was really impressed with B&W's new 686 bookshelf speakers. The dealer played them through Rotel separates.

so here are my questions

Can I buy an older Power Amp (say from the late 1980s on) and pair it with a newer digital preamp? I'd pick up an amp here or on ebay. Probably 70 - 100 watts per channel.

Is there much difference between pairing a power and pre amp together over a good integrated amp of the same brand and power?

Any other recommendations for amp brand? (I'm pretty sold on the B&W's, so I'm looking for a good amp to pair them with.)

I'm looking to spend $500 for the amp setup and am happy to shop used. I've heard Cambridge Amps before and also NAD. I'm not in a position to A/B the amps, but was impressed with all three.

thanks!
stevecuss
You can absolutely use an old power amp with a new pre-amp. However, the good news is you don't have to look for something "from the '80s". At Audiogon you can find "old" power amps less than five years old at your price point.

Don't get too hung up on watts. There's a lot to amp choice other than published watt specs. There are many excellent amps in the 50 watt range.

There is no reason why an integrated cannot be as good as seaprates. It depends on how it's designed and built. For $500, I think you should be looking at a good integrated rather than try to stretch the dollars out over separates (and an interconnect). I very much doubt that you can find separates totalling $500 that would best a good integrated at that price.