Upgrading Entire System...please help

This is my first time posting, so please bear with me through my the questions. I currently have a pretty modest system. NAD C320BEE Int Amp, the associated CD Player (C520BEE I think) and an old pair of Spica TC-50's. While this system sounds alright I find myself wanting more. I recently listened to a relative’s stereo and was blown away. Granted, his system must have cost over 100k, but it gave me a taste of what is possible. The speakers literally "disappeared" and the performance was right in front of me. I was able to pin point each instrument in the sound stage and hear the most minuscule detail. It felt as if it was truly a live performance in the listening room. It was remarkable!

I have decided I that I want to upgrade, I do realize that I probably can’t even come close to the system I heard, but hopefully an upgrade will provide me with a better listening experience than what I have now. My total budget is about 5-6k. My question is this...as someone without much experience; at what price point will I start to notice significant differences in my system? Will a new $6,000 system sound audibly different to what I have now?

Second, in terms of budgeting, I want to keep things simple. A CD player, Integrated Amp (I figure in my price range this is the way to go) and speakers. I do not need a phono inputs, balanced inputs, etc. Also I would prefer solid state components. I figure a good budget would be about 1k for CD Player, 1.5 - 2k for Amplification and 2-3K for speakers.

After reading many reviews and doing research, while gaining a lot of insight, it has also made me more confused as there are seemingly infinite brand/combination possibilities in this price range. I realize it would be best to actually go to stores and listen, but how do you compare so many possibilities when certain dealers only carry certain brands?