Krell KBL or Krell KRC-3 or neither?

I am still a noob. Here is proof. Is $2800. too much to pay for a Philips DVD727? I know they are only $40. My real questions is:
Does the Krell KRC-3 have a better rep or what charateristics make this cheaper (new $2950.)than the KBL (new $4500.) have a higher used bluebook? Are these worth the $1470 (used) KRC-3 and $450.(current bid) for the KBL?
Is it true that tubes increase or are most suited to mid-range than SS?
Thanks for any input.
BTW...I know some ppl don't care for Klipsch, but my new RF-7s sound so awesome, and they have not yet been broke in. To anyone looking at speakers, (I know my opinion is just the 'flavor-of-the-day' and this is the wrong forum) for $1800. a pair, I am amazed and am finding myself with a big smile on my face wanting to say "these are the best speakers...no, the best sysyem I ever herd!" But, like I said, I am new and have not herd many, if any, good speaker/systems. Just had to SHOUT OUT my happiness.
alburger
I had a KRC-3 for about ten years. I've read over and over that it's a classic and still a piece to own, it's that good.

$1470.00 seems $100.00-$200.00 too high though. I think around $1250.00 might be a fairer price, but that's me.

If you want a really amazing pre-amp, and have the extra money, a Herron VTSP-1A/166 is a fantastic tube pre-amp. I've seen them on Audiogon for around $2000.00-$2200.00 used, and they're worth every penny.

Chuck
For $450, buy the KBL, unless there is something wrong with it.
I owned one and used it in my $60K system and loved it. I never had any problems and the sound was fantastic! I did finally upgrade to the KRC-HR, which actually gave me more of a positive opinion of the KBL.

If you don't really need a remote, and for the lower price, I would go with the KBL (but I haven't directly compared it to the KRC3)

Hope this helps a little. But to confuse you more, I have heard good things about the KRC3.

Richard